The chirruping voice of the birds enchants the mind and hearts of everyone. The flight of the birds is limitless in the sky. The Indian peafowl (Pavo cristatus) is known as the national bird of India. According to the official record of the government of India, there are 1364 species. Out of these 1364 bird species, 81 species are indigenous and 212 species are called endangered species. Also, you would like to know the dog breeds in India.

In this blog, the list of Indian birds is given below:

Cuckoo Birds

cuckoo birds

Cuckoo birds belong to the family of Cuculidae. These are medium-sized birds that are greyish/brown in color. The long tails, narrow wings, and tiny legs are the distinctive features of the cuckoo birds. According to the official records of the Indian government, there are 24 species of cuckoo birds in India.

Common Name Biological Name
Andaman Coucal Centropus anamnesis
Blue-faced malkoha Phaenicophaeus viridirostris
Asian koel Eudynamys scolopaceus
Asian emerald cuckoo Chrysococcyx maculatus
Banded bay cuckoo Cacomantis sonneratii
Indian Cuckoo Cuculus saturatus
Common cuckoo Cuculus canorus
Himalayan cuckoo Cuculus saturatus
Lesser cuckoo Cuculus poliocephalus
Common hawk-cuckoo Hierococcyx nisicolor
Violet cuckoo Chrysococcyx xanthorhynchus
Grey-billed cuckoo Cacoamantis passerinus
Plaintive cuckoo Cacomantis sonneratii
Fork-tailed drongo-cuckoo Cacomantis passerinus
Greater coucal Centropus sinensis
Lesser coucal Centropus bengalensis
Sirkeer malkoha Taccocua leschenaultii
Chestnut-winged cuckoo Clamator coromandus
Jacobin cuckoo Clamator jacobinus
Green-billed malkoha Phaenicophaeus viridrostris
Square-tailed drongo-cuckoo Surniculus dicruroides
Hodgson’s hawk-cuckoo Hierococcyx various

Pigeons and Doves

Pigeons & dove

Pigeons and doves belong to the Columbidae family. Their similar features include a stout appearance, small-sized necks, and thin peaks. But the doves are known for a smaller stature whereas the pigeons are known for larger stature.

Common name biological Biological Name
Andaman wood pigeon Columba palumboides
(endangered bird)_
Eurasian collared dove Streptopelia decaocto
European turtle dove Streptopelia turtur (rarely found)
Pied imperial pigeon Ducula bicolor
Mountain imperial pigeon Ducula badia
Nicobar imperial pigeon Ducula nicobarica
Green imperial pigeon Ducula aenea
Pin-tailed green pigeon Treron apicauda
Yellow-footed green pigeon Treron phoenicopterus
Wedge-tailed green pigeon Treron sphenurus
Ashy-headed green pigeon Treron phayrei (endangered species)
Laughing dove Spilopelia senegalensis
Spotted dove Spilopelia chinensis
Barred-cuckoo dove Macropygia unchall
Namaqua dove Oena capensis
Rock dove Columba livia
Hill pigeon Columba rupestris
Snow pigeon Columba leuconota
Yellow-eyed pigeon Columba eversmanni
Speckled wood pigeon Columba hodgsonii
Ashy wood pigeon Columba pulchricollis
Pale capped pigeon Columba palumboides



In India, flamingos come from Gujarat. It has also been researched that flamingos are migratory birds that come from Iran and Africa. The distinctive features of the flamingos include their oddly shaped beaks. They eat shellfish and algae.

Common Name Biological Name
Greater flamingo Phoenicopterus roseus
Lesser flamingo Phoneniconaias minor (endangered species)



Hornbills belong to the family of Bucerotidae species. In India, 9 species are found. Out of these 9 species, four species are found in the Western Ghats. Their bill is shaped like the horn of a cow. They are bright in color.

Common Name Biological Name
Great hornbill Buceros bicornis (endangered species)
Austen’s brown hornbill Anorrhinus austeni (endangered species)
Oriental pied hornbill Anthracoceros albirostris
Malabar pied hornbill Anthracoceros coronatus
Indian grey hornbill Ocyceros griseus (endangered species)
Narcondam hornbill Rhyticeros narcondami (endangered species)
Wreathed hornbill Rhyticeros undulatus
Malabar grey hornbill Ocyceros griseus (endangered species)
Rufous-necked hornbill Aceros nipalensis



Parrots belong to the family of Psittacidae. The distinctive features of the Indian parrots include a strong curved bill, stout legs, and claws. The size of the parrot ranges from 8 cm to 1m in length.

 Common Name Biological Name
Grey-headed parakeet Psittacula finschii (threatened species)
Plum-headed  parakeet Psittacula cyanocephala
Blossom-headed parakeet Psittacula roseata (threatened species)
Lord Derby’s parakeet Psittacula derbiana
Red-breasted parakeet Psittacula alexandri (endangered species)
Long-tailed parakeet Psittacula longicauda (endangered species)
Rose-ringed parakeet Psittacula krameri
Nicobar parakeet Psittacula caniceps
Alexandrine parakeet Psittacula eupatria
Blue-winged parakeet Psittacula columboides
Slaty-headed  parakeet Psittacula himalayana
Vernal hanging parrot Loriculus venalis



Kingfishers belong to the family of Alcedinidae. The distinctive features of the bird kingfishers include medium-sized, pointed bills, stubby tails, and tiny legs. According to the records of the Indian government, there are 13 species of kingfishers in India.

Common Name Biological Name
Black-capped kingfisher Halycon pileata
White-throated kingfisher Halcyon smyrnensis
Ruddy kingfisher Halcyon coromanda
Brown-winged kingfisher Pelargopsis amauroptera (endangered species)
Blue-eared kingfisher Alcedo meninting
Common kingfisher Alcedo atthis
Blyth’s kingfisher Alcedo hercules
Pied kingfisher Ceryle rudis
Collared kingfisher Todiramphus chloris
Stork-billed kingfisher Pelaropsis capensis



The owls belong to the family of Strigidae. They are small to large nocturnal birds. The distinctive features of the owl include a hawk-like beak and a facial disk.

Common Name Biological Name
Indian scops owl Otus bakkamoena
Pallid scops owl Otus brucei
Eurasian scops owl Otus scops
Nicobar scops owl Otus alius
Indian eagle-owl Bubo bengalensis
Collared scops owl Otus lettia
Spot-bellied owl Bubo nipalensis
Dusky eagle-owl Bubo coromabdus
Tawny fish owl Ketupa flavipes
Mottled wood owl Strix Strix ocellata
Jungle owlet Glaucidium radiatum
Little owl Athene Athene Athene noctua
Spotted owlet Athene Athene Athene brama
Brown hawk-owl Ninox scutulata
Long-eared owl Asio otus
Short-eared owl Asio flammeus
Hume’s hawk-owl Ninox obscura
Boreal owl Aegolius funereus
Forest owlet Athene blewitti (endangered species)
Buffy fish owl Ketupa ketupu
Oriental scoops owl Otus sunia
Boreal owl Aegolius funereus

 Crows and Jays

Crown and Jays

The birds like crows, ravens, jays, ground jays, nutcrackers, treepies, etc. belong to the family of Corvids. They are more than average in size and high level of intelligence in comparison to the other birds.

Common Name Biological Name
Grey Treepie Dendrocitta formosae
Eurasian magpie Pica pica
Eurasian nutcracker Nucifrage caryocatactes
Kashmir nutcracker Nucifraga multipunctata
Alpine chough Phyrrhocorax graculus
Western jackdaw Corvus Corvus monedula
House crow Corvus Corvus splendens
Carrion crow Corvus corone
Eastern jungle crow Corvus levaillantii
Pied crow Corvus Corvus albus
Northern raven Corvus corax
Rook Corvus frugilegus
Western jackdraw Corvus splendens
Andaman treepie Dendrocitta frontails
Eurasian jay Garrulus glandarius
Black-headed jay Garrulus lanceolatus
Common green magpie Cissa chinensis

Final words

To sum up, birds are the aural heritage. They should be preserved anyhow and the best way to preserve these birds is to save the forests. Stop doping deforestation for development. Also, know how do baby giraffe sleep.